My St. Patty’s Day Surprise

I had a baby! Maxwell Evan completely surprised me when he arrived on a Sunday morning ten days before my estimated due date. That Friday M and I had a date night with dinner and a comedy show. On Saturday I took my friend’s yoga class in Philly and grabbed (veggie) sushi after. I never felt the baby “drop” so I thought I had at least another week to go. We hadn’t even decided on a name yet. At 2:30 in the morning my water broke while I was sleeping. I wanted to let M get his rest since I knew the first part of labor is known to go on for a while. I texted my doula and took a shower before waking him. M started making us breakfast around 4. My mommy friends had advised me to eat before going to the hospital since food is banned from the delivery room and I would need my strength. My doula arrived and things started to get intense. We left for the hospital around 5:30, taking the breakfast to go. I couldn’t eat and when we arrived I was in for a shock when the nurses told me it was almost time to push. I had expected labor to go on for a day or two since my mom took that long to have me. I ended up going all natural and Max was born at 10:12 a.m. on St. Patrick’s Day. He’s a Pisces just like me. Max weighed 7 pounds 6 ounces and is 21 inches. He is the absolute joy of my life. I love every squeal, coo and grunt. We have been snuggled up together since the moment he was born.

photo-29

Wrapped in the blanket my mom used for me

As for my quick labor…I credit it to raspberry leaf tea. Click here to read all about it’s benefits during pregnancy. I drank about a quart a day starting at 34 weeks. I ordered the tea leaves from Mountain Rose Herbs. Since the birth I’ve been drinking a blend of raspberry leaf, blessed thistle, nettle leaf and alfalfa which is said to help with milk production, postpartum and bringing the uterus back down.

4 Comments

Filed under Baby

4 responses to “My St. Patty’s Day Surprise

  1. Congratulations! Your baby has a lucky birthday. My two kids came on just as fast. 5 hours labor with the first and 4 1/2 with the second. No time for drugs! I look forward to hear some updates about your little cutie and I hope you enjoy every moment you can soaking up that babyness. 🙂

  2. Pingback: One Month | veggievinyasa

  3. Pingback: 31 Days of Practice | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

