Sweet Sauce

I absolutely love BBQ. But not just any, it has to be the good stuff. I haven’t found anything in the North that holds a candle to Sonny’s (a Southern chain found in my hometown). Of course my order has changed over the past year and a half. It wasn’t that long ago that I was dining on a pulled pork “Big Deal”. I also used to walk out of there with a huge bellyache. When I first gave up beef, chicken and pork in one foul swoop in March 2011 I wasn’t thinking about Sonny’s. It’s a tradition that my trips home involve lunch or dinner with my parents and brother at Sonny’s. They asked me what I was going to order. I didn’t know, but I was sure about one thing: BBQ is all about the sauce. For the past year I’ve most often put a meal together from the sides: baked beans, a sweet potato, corn, garlic toast and steamed broccoli. None of them are particularly special… basically my favorite part is slathering their sweet sauce all over the garlic toast.

I had a bottle of it in my kitchen that my parents brought for me as a gift. I was kind of afraid to open it. Don’t ask why. Sorry about the ramble, but here’s the moral of the story: I made veggie BBQ with Sonny’s sauce that M and I loved even more than Sonny’s itself.

The menu:

  • sautéed onions and portabella mushrooms over whole grain toast
  • baked beans
  • sweet potato fries

Double the onion fun

For the baked beans

I used this awesome recipe, except I substituted 1-2 tablespoons of tomato paste for the real tomatoes. I also halved the recipe and skipped the baking part, making them “sautéed beans”, which I then drenched in the sweet sauce. Much quicker and still very tasty.

Ahhh, the good stuff.

I’ve sent out a plea for any future house guests to please bring more sweet sauce. As for the meal, I know it doesn’t look too pretty but I assure you it’s amazing and very easy to make. The best part(s): it’s veggie, healthy, flavorful and everything can be dipped or smothered in the sauce.

What’s your stance on good BBQ?

Leave a comment

Filed under Dining in

Leave a Reply

