My Crush on Colleen

I’ll start by saying I adore Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. She’s talented, smart, articulate and cheerful. She gives truthful information in a logical, heart-felt way that we can all understand. My literary crush began with The Vegan Table. I bought it for the seasonal recipes and superb organization. Planning a dinner party for ten in the fall? Flip to page 181 for delicious mushroom pecan burgers that can be put together ahead of time. A spring dinner for two? Try the pad Thai on page 26 (I highly recommend both of these recipes).

I also found  personal antidotes…like how happy she was with her decision to have a vegan wedding reception, and plenty of interesting food facts. Did you know that saffron has been used as a dye, medicine and aphrodisiac?

Next was The Joy of Vegan Baking. Some recipes are healthy and some aren’t, but each one has tasted great. I love that I can bring vegan cookies to a party and everyone loves them. Thanks Colleen!

But what really sparked the idea for a post was her podcasts. I’m fairly new to the podcast world, but lately I’ve been spending a lot of time in the car. I do love talk radio but since I don’t pick the topics it can get boring. Plus there’s commercials. Click here to start at the beginning…she’s been publishing Vegetarian Food for Thought since 2006.

I’ve listened to quite a few back-to-back in the last two days. Some of it’s sad, some of it’s inspiring and some of it’s helpful. But most importantly, they’re all truthful (check back for more on truth and yoga this Saturday).

Last Saturday I briefly mentioned that I don’t eat eggs anymore, and I was amazed at the comments and support. Colleen has three great podcasts on the issue (there may be more, but I haven’t listened to all of her podcasts yet). You can find them on iTunes or click on these links:

What’s wrong with eating eggs since the chickens aren’t killed to get her eggs?

Aren’t free-range eggs better than eggs from battery-cage hens?

A Visit to Two “Free-Range” Egg Facilities

Who do you admire? What’s your favorite veggie cookbook? Do you listen to podcasts? If so, which ones?

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Dining in

2 responses to “My Crush on Colleen

  1. I’ve seen her name mentioned a few times online but didn’t really know much about her. Will definitely have to check out her podcasts!

    • They’re amazing! She’s so compassionate, and I love the language that she uses. Plus she gives great answers for stuff like how to answer questions from friends and family in a loving but honest way. You’ll love her!

Leave a Reply

