Yoga on the Steps

1,700 yogis gathered on the steps of the Philadelphia Museum of Art

(photo taken with Instagram on my iPhone)

Yesterday I went with one dear friend and many new ones to Living Beyond Breast Cancer’s yoga fundraiser. It was a gorgeous day to practice outside and the vibe was just amazing. The teacher talked about creative energy and living life to your fullest potential. There were cancer survivors, along with many people who’ve lost a loved one. Although I did make a (small) donation, I was mostly there to support my friend who’s been fundraising for a while through donation-based classes. Plus it was a chance to have fun and participate in something special. I left thinking, “What can I do to help others?” I’m not really sure what the answer is yet, but I am open to ideas.

My new friend Rebecca (left) and me (right) sharing boat pose

Have you participated in anything for charity? What’s the best way to be helpful?

8 Comments

Filed under Around town: Philadelphia, Yoga

8 responses to “Yoga on the Steps

  1. What a gorgeous day for that event. It doesn’t look too overwhelmingly crowded, either. I always assumed participants would be sardined on the steps, making it an awkward space for yoga. But you guys look totally chill!

    • I think the groups that get there early and share a step are squeezed in a little more than those of us up top, 10 mats back. We had plenty of space to breath, plus a great view of the city. I just love the art museum!

  2. beckyspringer

    Woo! what a fun way to get involved ;)!!!

  3. Looks fun! You should check out Off the Mat Into the World. I would love to do it, but a fear of fundraising has been the main thing holding me back. 😉

    • Wow, I just watched the video from Off the Mat. It looks amazing. I feel like I need to build up a little community here before jumping into fundraising, but it’s definitely something to strive for. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Waiting | veggievinyasa

  5. Hi there,

    Do you have a story of healing or transformation with yoga that you’d like to share with the world? The Yoga Diaries is now accepting submissions. http://theyogadiaries.net/

    Please spread the word!

    Cheers,
    The Yoga Diaries

Leave a Reply

