CSA Salad

I joined a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) for the first time. Summer deliveries just started and I’m so excited to have fresh healthy greens sent right to my doorstep from an organic farm. This website explains all the details and benefits of how a CSA works. In a nutshell, buyers sign-up for weekly boxes sent directly from the farm. No middle man and no time wilting on store shelves means the freshest veggies money can buy. You choose the package size based on how many people you’re feeding. So far I’ve gotten loads of greens: lettuce, chard, spinach and some mystery leaves I’m not sure about. Part of the fun is the surprise, although I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t awaiting juicy tomatoes and yummy summery zucchini.

Organic leaves

Salad for a few

Swiss chard (I think)

Simply sautéed

Simple and delicious chard: saute chopped garlic in sesame oil over medium heat. Add leaves until they begin to wilt, and then splash a little soy sauce in the pan. Transfer to a plate and sprinkle gomasio on top.

Have you ever joined a CSA? What should I make with all of my newly acquired greens?

10 Comments

Filed under Dining in

10 responses to “CSA Salad

  1. That salad looks divine! As does the simple and delicious chard! I have been subscribing to my CSA for almost 2 years and love everything about it.

    I tend to get a lot of greens too. The key to getting your greens to last is proper storage. Here are some storage tips from my CSA:

    Salad Greens- Lettuce will perish quickly if not stored properly. Lettuces like moisture and cool temperatures, so store lettuce in perforated plastic bags wrapped in damp paper towels, and keep in the refrigerator vegetable crisper.

    Spinach- When you get bunched spinach home, untie it, remove any blemished leaves, trim off the stems, and wash it thoroughly in cold water. Repeat if necessary until you’re sure all the grit is gone. Spin dry in a salad spinner or drain well, then put into clean plastic bags very loosely wrapped with paper towels. It will last only two to three days, so plan on eating your rinsed spinach right away. Cold, moist surroundings, as low as 32°F and about 95% humidity are the best for storing spinach.

    I would love for you to link up to my weekly CSA link party and share your goodies with all the participants. http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/10/whats-in-the-box-25/. Hope to see you there!

  2. I love the sauteed greens. Do you ever use Bragg’s? They add an interesting flavor and are so good for you.

    • I haven’t tried Bragg’s. I’ve read a few recipes that say use Bragg’s or soy sauce, so I’ve always just used soy. Thanks for the idea, I’ll grab some next time I’m out.

  3. CSA’s are such a great way to support local organic farms! I hope you have fun trying out new veggies! If you ever get kale, baked kale chips are great! I have a recipe on my blog – all about my weekly uses of farm-fresh veggies. Can’t wait to see what else you get in the weeks to come and what you make with it!

  4. Pingback: My Morning | veggievinyasa

  5. Pingback: Tomato Basil Quinoa | veggievinyasa

  6. Pingback: Chemical Food | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

