NYC Blossoms

April showers brought vibrant color to New York’s flowers and foliage. After a $5 yoga class on Saturday at Life in Motion my gay hubby and I headed to Cafe Blossom on Columbus Avenue between 82nd & 83rd for a late lunch. The entire menu is vegan and I couldn’t choose out of sheer excitement. After a chat with our server I finally decided on the root vegetable phyllo pastry with cream sauce and a side of brussels sprouts. Camilo got the veggie bacon cheeseburger with sweet potato fries (I snagged a few). Everything was delicious and we ended our meal with cappuccino (decaf for me) and carrot cake. Pure heaven!

M joined me later for a night on the town. Sunday we carb overloaded as we wandered the streets of lower Manhattan in search of bagels and home decoration inspiration. A local jogger sent us to Russ and Daughters for classic Jewish bagels with all the trimmings (which unbenounced to us meant dozens of different smoked and pickled fish). I ordered a toasted sesame with tofu veggie cream cheese and sliced tomatoes.

Too bad they forgot to toast it (after a 20 min. wait)…at least the cream cheese was yummy

My trip was complete with a cupcake from Billy’s Bakery

Happy Monday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating out, Travel & Leisure

Leave a Reply

