Tofu Tacos

Taco slaw with cabbage, radishes, chives, cilantro, oil and lime juice

In the past I’ve been a little hesitant about tofu and other “meat substitutions” but last night I was feeling adventurous so I made these tacos from The Food Network. I thought they turned out great, but my burly boyfriend was unimpressed with the tofu (he loved the cabbage slaw and all the other toppings). I also made a dish of Alicia Silverstone’s heavenly cheesy bean dip, which is always a crowd-pleaser.

Organic tofu

I couldn’t find much on the web to back it up, but I’ve been told that soybeans are one of the most heavily fertilized crops in the U.S.A. and that it’s one item to always buy organic (this article also talks about peanuts, which I’ve heard the same thing about).

Hand sliced and ready for the press

Wrapped in paper towels and sandwiched between two plates with a weight on top

M’s preteen boys aren’t ready for tofu yet, but I was able to swap there usual taco kit for this organic one, which went unnoticed

Our living room picnic (we’re still in the process of moving in)

Do you like tofu? What do you make with it? How do you switch up taco night to keep it fresh?

1 Comment

Filed under Dining in

One response to “Tofu Tacos

  1. Pingback: A 2nd Round: Tofu Tacos | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

