Saturday Morning Sanskrit: Sankalpa

Sanskrit for intention

San = to join, to draw together, to exalt. Kalpa = mental constructs, thoughts, emotions.

We always have an intention with everything we do, whether we realize it or not. Yoga offers a chance to slow down and specifically set an intention for a short amount of time on the mat. Then hopefully we can carry on with that intention later in “real life”.

Yoga feels good; in our bodies, hearts and minds. Using an intention helps set clear goals and it can be anything you want. A few examples:

  • I will follow the breath
  • I will take care of myself/listen to my body
  • I will focus on the good
  • I will stay in the present moment*

*My favorite

Lately I’ve been thinking about what it means to take my intention off the mat. Intentions help align thought with action. For example, it may sound cheesy but I intend to spread joy. All good intentions must start at home first, so recently I’ve been reminding myself to find the joy in life. For me joy can be found in a delicious new recipe or using old coffee grinds to make an all-natural body scrub. In turn, I’m more likely to give a compliment or brush off a rude comment. Intentions are not something to beat yourself up over. They’re meant to uplift and help us stay positive.

“Choose your intention carefully and then practice holding your consciousness to it, so it becomes the guiding light in your life.” ~ John Roger

What are your intentions? How do you find the joy in life?

Leave a comment

Filed under Yoga

Leave a Reply

