Natural Beauty

Skincare I love

My name is Angela and I’m a beauty product junkie. It started with Bonnie Bell chapstick in  elementary school and festered to a new level at my first real job as a Walgreens cashier back in high school. I had hours to look over lip gloss and nail polish, plus an employee discount that I gladly used to buy hair dye. Let’s just say that my naturally dark brown hair has been everything from bleached blond, black and even a purplish red tint. And I’m not even going to get into the tacky highlights I’ve had over the years. Currently I’m back to my natural roots and loving the low-maintenance of living with (gasp) my own hair color. I have nothing against anyone that dyes, but for me it’s just too much work to keep up with my dark roots. But I digress. There are many reasons that I’m trying to get ahold of my beauty product problem: clutter in the bathroom, wastefulness, animal abuse and personal health (you can read about how a lot of “regular” beauty products contain stuff that’s bad for humans here). But on to the positive part of this post. Luckily being green is all the rage, and there are a ton of companies catering to us “hippies”. Read on to learn about my favorite all natural products, along with a few celeb choices.

Gorgeous & eco-chic: picks by Alicia Silverstone

Gwyneth Paltrow’s

A database that will tell you the toxicity level of a product

My favorites:

Tarte eyeshadow

Bare Escentuals mineral powder

Boscia facewash and moisturizer

Boscia black peel-off face mask

Lavanila deoderant

Yes, it costs $18 and is found at Sephora. But I’ve tried a lot (and I mean a lot) of natural deodorants and this one is the only one that works for me. I bought it in December, and it kept M from gagging on a hot and sweaty hike in Costa Rica, plus the tube’s still full two and half months later. Read this news article to find our why I stopped using Secret.

Dr. Bronner’s pure castile liquid soap (the almond scent is yummy!)

Giovanni shampoo and conditioner (sold at Target)

*I still haven’t found a toothpaste or mascara that I can live with, so if you’ve got a good one please share.

What are your favorite tried-and-tested natural beauty products?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion & Beauty

Leave a Reply

