Embracing Winter

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” ~ Dr. Seuss

Today’s final gaze at peaceful waters

I may have mentioned once or twice that winter is my least favorite season. I usually try to skedaddle away from the cold as much as possible, but this weekend I embraced the quiet solitude and even spent some time in nature (yes, outside in the cold). I have to admit that it was breathtakingly beautiful and it was nice to savor winter as I snuggled in with a hot cup of tea, a warm bowl of pumpkin bean chili and new like-minded friends. Tomorrow it’s back to the grind, but at least I’ve got my leftover mushroom loaf, mashed potatoes, gravy and spinach to look forward to at lunchtime.

What do you enjoy most about winter?

It’s an excuse to slow down, take life easy and enjoy a few carbs. I also like fuzzy slippers, restorative yoga, frothy soy lattes and cozy sweaters.

2 Comments

Filed under Dining in

2 responses to “Embracing Winter

  1. I’m with you on the lattes. There is something so calming about stepping into a cafe from the cold and ordering a frothy latte.

    And not that I particularly like snow or want it to happen any more this season, but I do love that feeling of quiet and calm during the first few hours after a snowstorm, where it feels like you’re the only one on the planet. I would love if all snowstorms were followed by unseasonably warm days and everything melted within 24 hours. None of this gray slush on the roads nonsense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

