A Move to Calm

Live each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each. ~ Henry David Thoreau

It’s cold and dreary in the Northeast, so this weekend my good friend Wania (pronounced Vanya- she’s German) and I retreated to somewhere in the mountains of Pennsylvania. We’re bunked up college-style with a bunch of ladies for a weekend of relaxation, yoga, walking in nature and plenty of napping. There’s also heaps of good food prepared by our yoga teacher Maura.

Quinoa and broccoli topped with an avocado mixture accompanied by a cucumber and mixed greens salad

Creamy chocolaty irresistible Brazilian dessert

Winter; a yin season

We must have reasons for speech but we need none for silence.  ~Proverb

Stop the words now. Open the window in the center of your chest, and let the spirits fly in and out. ~Rumi

What are you doing to take care of yourself this winter? Do you change any of your routines?

5 Comments

Filed under Travel & Leisure

5 responses to “A Move to Calm

  1. I am so jealous of your frequent mini getaways! I think it’s great to change your scenery now and again, and you always seem to be somewhere new each month.

    My biggest change in routine is what I pack for lunch. During the spring and summer, all I want to do is eat salads day in and day out. But once the temperature drops, my body instantly wants soup. Also, on the weekends, instead of having my normal bowl of cold cereal, I crave a heaping bowl of hot oatmeal.

    During the winter, I also lather myself in Aveeno lotion after each shower. I can get away with no lotion during the summer and fall, but if I don’t cover myself with lotion in the winter, I itch so much that I feel like I have the chicken pox!

  2. Wania

    I loved the retreat and the food so much that I made Quinoa and broccoli topped with an avocado mixture (for my daughter and hubby) and mixed greens salad for lunch and dinner! And I also had the vegan carrot cake from whole food too! Just delicious…..Yummy! :)))
    And so much fun by sharing the room with you Angela! *giggles*

Leave a Reply

