Small Changes, Big Results

What a find! Organic & local tomatoes at Reading Terminal Market

I couldn’t resist grabbing a new book yesterday while wandering around Rittenhouse Square: I’m Mad as Hell, and I’m Not Going to Eat it Anymore! by Christina Pirello (I really love food and yoga books!). Between last night’s hour on the train from Philadelphia to South Jersey and my break at work today I’ve read quite a bit. Even though most of the info isn’t new to me, sometimes I need a gentle reminder to stay away from all the junk that’s constantly barraged towards consumers nowadays (like the late-night pizza menu we found Saturday night…which left me with a bloated belly all day Sunday). Any-hoo, today’s a new day and I’m committed to small changes. Christina gives a few suggestions in her book:

  • Swap something processed for a new fresh item each week. There’s something inspiring about trying new produce. Last year I bought one new thing with each trip to the farmers’ market. I ended up discovering fresh lima beans and figs. Yum!
  • Ditch the “white” food at dinner. Easy enough to do at home, I’ll just save the French bread for special occasions.
  • Drink water before snacking. Many times thirst is mistaken for hunger, plus we could all probably use a little more H2O.
  • Don’t eat in front of the tv. I’m not ready to give up freshly popped popcorn with sea salt and melted Earth Balance butter, but dinner is committed to the table.
  • Go cold-turkey on soda. I’ll admit I have a little problem with coke. Classic Coca-Cola is my favorite of all carbonated beverages. But last night’s reading convinced me to give it up (again). Soda is a chemical combo that can be used to remove bloodstains from the road, eat corrosion off car batteries and make a toilet bowl sparkle after just an hour. It will dissolve a steak in two days and a nail in four days. Just imagine what it does to a human body…soda raises blood pressure, dehydrates and increases chances of arthritis. It also leaches calcium from bones, including our teeth and spines. I know we’ve heard it all before, but if you really stop and think about it, it’s pretty disgusting. So for the second time I’m quitting for good! (I lasted about six months last time, then it slowly crept back into my life.)
  • Stock the fruit bowl. 

  • Learn to use leftovers in creative new ways. My own suggestion that I’m working on. Weeknight dinners are fast and easy when the fridge is stocked with basics and simple leftovers that can be given a new spin.

In a little more than one month I’ll be celebrating my 30th birthday on the beach. I’d love to be my healthiest self possible, plus I’d be lying if I said spending time in a bikini wasn’t part of my inspiration. But mostly I want to trade processed crap for whole foods because it makes me feel so much better when I do. I’d love for you to join me on this quest and trade one old bad habit for something that will make you look and feel like a million bucks.

Is there anything you’re willing to trade?

I’m getting rid of soda and trying out plenty of new recipes. I’m also trading dairy for plant-based milk, sauces and creams.

What small changes have you already made in your life?

One of the best changes was committing to packing my lunch every day. It was hard at first, but I’ve discovered all sorts of tricks (like keeping soup in the freezer, chopping salad stuff for the week, portioning leftovers the night it’s made, getting everything ready the night before). I’m saving money, cutting waste and getting envious glances in the break room. Today’s lunch: salad greens dressed with oil, vinegar, mustard and roasted garlic along with a bowl of mushroom bourguignon. So worth the time and effort!

3 Comments

Filed under Around town: Philadelphia, Books, Dining in

3 responses to “Small Changes, Big Results

  1. Although I don’t eat meat or poultry daily, I am not a practicing vegetarian. However, it recently occurred to me that I haven’t eaten meat in 2 weeks, mostly because I’ve been filling up on beans, soup, and fish. I have to say, I feel pretty good too! I find that putting a label on myself and officially “declaring” vegetarianism inevitably leads to me eating meat again, but just eating what feels appropriate seems to be the right path.

  2. Pingback: Chemical Food | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

