Sunshine & Gratitude

I am so thankful for all the wonderful people in my life. I’m also thankful that I got to spend this holiday weekend in Florida with my family. It was a chill Thanksgiving with just M and my immediate family (it’s our tradition,  Thanksgiving in Florida with my family and Christmas in Jersey with his). We started the day with a simple breakfast and then my brother and I did most of the cooking while my mom kept a watchful eye. There was a foosball series where I lost my title as the champion to my brother (although now that I’m warmed up we’ll have to play again…) and the day ended with a sunset dip in the hot tub followed by star-gazing.

Breakfast buddy

A healthy start with a fresh Florida orange and an apple with almond butter

Fresh herbs & garlic

Spruced up package stuffing

On their way to being mashed

A delicious swap: green bean almondine instead of our usual creamy casserole

 The fruits of our labor

 

 There was pumpkin pie, which I gobbled up too fast to take a picture. My family also made a turkey. I stopped eating meat last spring, so this was my first major holiday as a vegetarian. I ate a plate of veggies but I could smell the turkey. I ate a small piece. My world didn’t come crumbling down around me, but I also realized I didn’t really need it. I can happily say that I don’t miss meat anymore and I doubt I’ll just “have to have it” again.

Have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Dining in

One response to “Sunshine & Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Fire & Sunshine | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

