Overnight Oats

Yesterday I took a little trip to the place where most of my stuff is in storage. I had to dig out a few things I’ve been missing since I moved into my boyfriend’s place three weeks ago. (We’re remodeling an old house on the other side of town that we hope to be into before Christmas.) I went for the crock pot and a cookbook, but came out with a bag full of random kitchen utensils as well (I absolutely need my lemon zester!)

I was so excited about the crock pot that I had to use it right away. Last night I threw a few ingredients in it before heading out on the town. I put the bowl in the fridge and left myself a note by the door to plug it in before going to sleep.

Carrot Cake and Zucchini Bread Oatmeal from The Vegan Slow Cooker by Kathy Hest

Grated zucchini

Steel-cut oats & veggies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup steel-cut oats
  • 1 1/2 cup vanilla non-dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 1 small carrot, grated
  • 1/4 small zucchini, grated
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar or maple syrup

Directions:

Oil the bowl of the slow cooker. Combine all ingredients and cook on low for 6-8 hours. In the morning add chopped pecans and more milk if needed.

I overslept and mine was pretty dry so I scooped some in a mug, added coconut creamer and gave it a stir. Delicious-ness!

What do you like in your oatmeal?

2 Comments

Filed under Dining in

2 responses to “Overnight Oats

  1. I am very simple when it comes to oatmeal … usually just peanut butter and some cut up fruit! This looks really good, though, and I’ve never thought to use the slow cooker for oatmeal.

  2. Sounds yummy too. I’ve been eating the leftovers, heated up via the microwave, for the past few days. In my opinion it’s even creamier a day later.

Leave a Reply

