Sweet & Spicy Stew

Spicy Chickpea-Sweet Potato Stew

I’m back in New Jersey after a longer than expected trip to see my friends and family in Florida. Today’s to-do list has a few more items than usual so I googled to find an easy lunch recipe that would provide me with some leftovers for work-day dinners. Crispy October weather made for a perfect stew day.

Tomatoes and chickpeas from the half-unpacked moving box of canned goods

Here’s the original recipe. I was missing a few ingredients so this is what I ended up using:

  • 1 15-ounce can of chickpeas
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 5 cloves chopped garlic (instead of 3)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (instead of 1 jalapeno)
  • 12 ounces of crushed tomatoes plus 3 chopped tomatoes (instead of 12 ounces plum tomatoes)
  • 2 sweet potatoes cubed (in place of 1 pound Yukon potatoes)
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 cups of organic salad greens (thrown in at the last minute, stirred until wilted)

I followed the instructions from the original recipe, subbing out things here and there and the stew turned out delicious. I’m inspired to whip up another pot of something this week. I have a few beets in the fridge. Any suggestions for those?

Sweet potatoes: full of anti-oxidants, vitamins, minerals and fiber

Chickpeas blended with water add texture

The finished product

Do you have any quick and easy soup making tips?

I usually follow recipes closely, but I’ve noticed that you can’t go wrong with sauteed onions with a few spices. Add water/broth and some sort of canned tomato plus veggies and it always seems to turn out good.

What are your favorite soup ingredients?

I love mushroom soup! I also like white beans with spinach or kale.

1 Comment

Filed under Dining in

One response to “Sweet & Spicy Stew

  1. Pingback: 2 Soups in 2 Days | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

