Reason #5: Yoga Makes Me Smile

Yoga Makes Me Smile! Reason #5: The sense of calmness that comes during (and after) practice.

Yoga is the union between mind and body, with the breath as the connection between the two. During yoga our focus should be on the  inhale or exhale as we move into, out of or hold each pose. Paying attention to what your body’s doing while focusing on the breath doesn’t leave much room for other thoughts.

Part of yoga is recognizing thoughts and letting them drift through your mind like clouds in the sky.

Yoga is a tool. It trains our brains to both relax and focus as the same time. For me it’s much easier than meditation because as my mind starts to drift, my asana (Sanskrit word for pose) starts to suffer. Yoga is a physical reminder to take a deep breath and focus on the present moment. And what could be more calming than that?

Yoga practice poolside in Orlando, Florida

 Awe-inspiring sunset yoga

Calm-inducing poses: reclined bound angle, child’s pose, pigeon, reclined twist

Relax, take a few deep breaths through the nose and try them out. Hold each pose for five or more breaths and feel a wave of calm cascade over you.

Which yoga poses do you find the most calming?

 

10 Comments

Filed under Yoga

10 responses to “Reason #5: Yoga Makes Me Smile

  1. What beautiful images of the sunset! And you are reminding me that I need to get back to a yoga practice. It has been so long that I cannot even remember my most calming pose:) Maybe an inversion?

  2. Propping my legs on the wall in viparita karani is my way to calm down after being on my feet or sitting at the office all day. Also, a long uttanasana midway during the workday gets blood back into my head and settles my nerves.

  3. Lenna (veganlenna)

    To me, the most calming is the pigeon pose – I could lay in this forever 😀

  4. Patti

    Inhale – CALM, Exhale – SMILE
    I will remember this and I restart my yoga practice that I’ve abandoned for too long. (I told you I was going to start reading your blog now that I’m retired!)

  5. Pingback: Reason #6: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

  6. Pingback: Reason #7: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

