Clearing Clutter

As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler; solitude will not be solitude, poverty will not be poverty, nor weakness weakness.  ~Henry David Thoreau

Movers came on Friday to pick up boxes and furniture. Those of you that have packed up a whole house know there’s a lot of work to be done before the burly men get there. Although all the advice I’ve read says moving is not the time to clean out the house I decided to go for it anyway.  Number 2 on my 30 Before 30 List is: Simplify my living space and clear out the clutter.  Last week my best friend/NYC fashion expert helped me go through my  closet. There was some eye rolling from him and some pleading from me, but eventually we had three piles we both could live with: keep, give away and sell.

The greatest step towards a life of simplicity is to learn to let go.  ~Steve Maraboli

Buffalo Exchange: I love recycled fashion

The end of day one: a pair of mocktails

As if the closet wasn’t difficult enough…the next thing we tackled was the basement. Up until this year I was an inner city school teacher. Due to lack of funds most teachers provide their own supplies. Camilo helped me go through an entire first grade classroom and pack it neatly into 10 large boxes. Talk about being grateful!

Kitchen odds & ends

I hand over the keys to my place in Philadelphia tomorrow morning and for the next few months I’ll be staying at my boyfriend’s house in South Jersey. We are remodeling an old house on the water that isn’t quite livable yet. We’re hoping to be finished by Christmas, and I’d love to be completely organized by then!

Sweep away the clutter of things that complicate our lives. ~Henry David Thoreau

Are you organized? What do you do stay simplified?

6 Comments

Filed under Home & Garden

6 responses to “Clearing Clutter

  1. ahh i love this post. i have a tendency to be sooo disorganized, even though i know that when i clear the clutter my mind feels soo much better. i try to do a deep clean every week and try not to buy things when i dont need REALLY need them!

    • Thanks. I’m knee deep in clothes now, procrastinating online instead of unpacking, wondering how I ended up with so much stuff. I’m officially not buying ANYTHING for a while!

  2. Our town has a Green Festival every fall and features a giant shredding truck. I always mark this date on our calendar, and the week before go through all of our old bank statements, bills, receipts, etc to take to the shredder. I can’t stand piles and piles of paperwork, so it’s nice to have this one day a year that I know I can get all of our files up to date and safely dispose of our old documents. We do have a small shredder at home, but feed it too many papers and it starts to smell like burning! :/

  3. Pingback: Progress Report | veggievinyasa

  4. Pingback: The End of an Era | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

