Peace, Love & Salad

Happy Peace Day!

September 21st is International Day of Peace. My boyfriend and I are celebrating with a nice big veggie salad. He’s decided he wants to cut back on meat and I’m thrilled about it.

Sesame seeds and sea salt

Dressed with last week’s detoxifying dip

I’m also using today to jumpstart #6 on my 30 Before 30 List: complete 21 days of meditation. My yoga teacher Dhyana suggests meditating twice a day: in the morning and right before the second part of your day starts (for example after work, before you spend time with your family). I plan to start small with five minutes each time and build up from there. I’ll be using the harp sound on the iPhone as a timer (plus I’m pretty forgetful, so I’ll be setting my alarm the first few days to remind me to meditate). Five minutes doesn’t sound like a lot, but I feel like I need to start small in order to stay consistent.

Are you celebrating Peace Day? Do you meditate? If so, have you noticed a difference in your life?

3 Comments

Filed under 30 Before 30, Dining in

3 responses to “Peace, Love & Salad

  1. I definitely notice a difference when I meditate. I’m so much more focused and in tune with my motion and breath. It is also comforting to know that there is peace beyond all the chaos of daily life; when I meditate, all those competing thoughts melt away and I am surrounded only by warm color and a sense of stillness. I feel like I escape to another dimension for a few moments.

  2. Pingback: Progress Report | veggievinyasa

  3. Pingback: The End of an Era | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

