Kitchen Gadgets

For the most part I like to keep it simple in the kitchen, but there are a few items I’m dreaming of…

1. a mandoline slicer

de Buyer Deluxe Dicing Mandoline

(Pic from Williams-Sonoma.com)

Mandoline slicers range from $20-200 in price. I don’t know much about the different types but I do know you can make lots of really cool veggie dishes like beet chips or carrot and zucchini salads. (Yes, talented cooks may be able to make thin even slices or matchsticks but my culinary skills are lacking a bit)

2. a spice grinder or a mortar and pestle

Which is better? I want to make my own condiments like gomasio.

3. an ice cream maker

Along with this cookbook

4. a vitamix

Some call it a blender but it costs the same as a flight to the Caribbean (where I could enjoy plenty of blended drinks). But with a vitamix it’s possible to make cashew cream, almond milk and even homemade peanut butter. Time to start saving!

5. a rice cooker

I’ve heard tales about how a rice cooker simplifies things. And since I’ve definitely burned my fair share of side dishes…

Do you own any of these items? Which are worth the cost plus their space in the kitchen?

4 Comments

Filed under Dining in, Home & Garden

4 responses to “Kitchen Gadgets

  1. As much as I love food, I have little patience to prepare it as lovingly as you! I don’t have any of those gadgets; the biggest kitchen investment we made was a George Foreman grill with removable plates.

  2. tru

    Four out of five isn’t bad!

    Mandoline – I have a fairly inexensive one with a ceramic blade. I do recommend the ceramic blade over the steel ones, especially at the lower price levels, as the ceramic will stay sharp longer.

    Mortar and pestle – it’s useful for so much. Toss a little kosher salt in with some garlic cloves and you’ll mash yourself up a delicious garlic paste. I also use to pulverize herbs and a zillion other things.

    Ice cream maker – don’t have one, but I sure have fond memories of the old beast my parents had that used ice cubes and rock salt.

    Vitamix – best appliance I ever bought. I purchased mine 8 years ago and I use it nearly every day. Soups, smoothies, dressings, sauces … you name it. Bonus – it makes my dog go silly for about 30 seconds every time I turn it on.

    Rice cooker – meh. Of the gadgets you listed, I find this one least useful – but if you have trouble making rice you like on the stove and you eat a lot of rice, then it’d be useful.

    Bonus gadget – spiral slicer – ( see link below) makes fun spirals out of carrots, cucumbers, zucchinis, etc. My favorite is to have it cut in threads – that makes zucchini “spaghetti” – a great way to get an Italian style meal without a lot of starch.

    http://www.myregistry.com/kitchenstore/details.aspx?pid=64971

  3. sue

    Chris and Lisa both had rice cookers; they say they love them and the rice turns out great!

Leave a Reply

