Odds & Ends

The past few days have been pretty hectic going back and forth between Philadelphia and South Jersey. The internet’s been down plus I’m getting ready to go out of town. I had a few beautiful veggies lying around that I just couldn’t bear to throw out so I made a quick curry yesterday for lunch with plenty of leftovers to freeze.

Cleaning out the crisper drawer

Coconut milk + curry powder = happiness

The original recipe comes from Siren’s Feast by Nancy Mehagian, but I’ve found that curry isn’t an exact science. I just kinda throw whatever veggies I have in the pot, adding more liquid or spices as needed. Here’s the original version:

Vegetarian Curry

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 large onions, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 2 large tomatoes, chopped
  • 4-6 small potatoes, chopped
  • 6 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups peas
  • 1 14 ounce can creamed coconut milk
  • 1 bunch chopped spinach
  • 2 Tbsp. curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. coriander
  • 1 Tbsp. tamari soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • Dash cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped mint

Directions:

Heat butter and oil in large pot or deep pan. Saute onions until soft. Add mushrooms and garlic, then stir in tomatoes. Add all remaining ingredients, reduce heat, cover and cook for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally. * I usually add the spinach the last few minutes.

* The combo of spices and coconut milk is a perfect mix to use up any leftover veggies. I’ve found that curried broccoli is delicious, but takes much longer to cook. The cabbage today was something new for me and I’m thrilled about how it turned out. I keep cans of light coconut milk in the cupboard and if I need more liquid I add veggie broth. Today I had to skip the mint and garlic but it still tasted great.

 A complete protein…and faster than rice 

Fragrant and flavorful

 How do you use up what’s left in the fridge?

2 Comments

Filed under Dining in

2 responses to “Odds & Ends

  1. Hi Angela,
    Thanks so much for posting a recipe from Siren’s Feast. I’d love to know how you came across my memoir and what you thought about it. And BTW I have a new natural foods cookbook for kids. Wishing you sparkling health on your veggie adventure.
    xxoo
    Nancy Mehagian
    http://supernaturalkidscookbook.com/

    • Hi Nancy, what a wonderful surprise to see your comment! Last year I met your friend Lola on a ranch outside of Buenos Aires. She told me about your book and I got it right away. I absolutely loved it! Your story is so interesting and all of the recipes are delicious. I just got back from Ibiza yesterday when I saw your comment. How funny is that? (For anyone reading this, Nancy used to have the first vegetarian restaurant in Ibiza!) Anyway, I will definitely check out your cookbook for kids. Thanks for writing and sending well wishes!

Leave a Reply

