Reason #4: Yoga Makes Me Smile

 Yoga Makes Me Smile! Reason #4: Switching up poses keeps things interesting.

I love yoga! It never gets old because the possibilities are endless. I usually start with a warm-up:

  • Sun Salutation B three times

On lazy days I do a short relaxing practice, but most days I follow the warm-up with a more active vinyasa practice that looks something like this:

Wheel at the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia

It’s a big game of mix and match. Pick any poses from each of the categories, but stick to the order to make sure your body’s ready for what comes next. One of my teachers suggested choosing a “pose of the week” as a focus. I’ve decided to choose two poses and work on them until I’ve got them down pat: Bakasana and Salamba Sirsasana (headstand).

There are tons of ways to spice up a yoga routine. I like this dvd, which has four 15 minute routines. I found it at Target. I also like Ellen Barrett’s Yogini dvd.

I haven’t tried You Tube yet, but when I do I will be checking out Sadie Nardini. I went to her workshop when she was in Philadelphia and she is amazing. She’s studying to be a ninja and she has lots of cool yogi tricks up her sleeve. Finally, there are tons of free sequences on iTunes.

How do you keep your yoga routine interesting?

3 Comments

Filed under Yoga

3 responses to “Reason #4: Yoga Makes Me Smile

  1. I’m with you. Variety is the spice of my yoga life. Maybe that’s why I’ve never really gotten into Bikram; being limited to 26 poses doesn’t suit my changing personal needs. Not that there’s anything wrong with Bikram… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Reason #6: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

  3. Pingback: Reason #7: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

