30 Before 30

Curiosity is a raw and genuine sign from deep inside our tangled psyches, and we’d all do well to follow the direction it points us in. -Po Bronson

A gorgeous summer day in Atlantic City, NJ

Four years ago I started practicing yoga a few times a week. (It was love at first downward facing dog.) My curiosity, along with a gentle nudge from a friend, led me to teacher training this past winter. I started this blog and became connected into a community of like-minded friends. Last week I read about Kelly‘s 30 by 30 list. I’m inspired, and with six and a half months left in my 20’s there are a lot of things I would like to accomplish. I decided to make my own list that focuses on practical skills and spiritual growth. I realized that there are many useful things that I don’t know how to do for myself and instead of relying on others, I want to learn how to take care of my own needs. In the past I’ve been blessed to travel and try new things so I’ve purposely left out partying in Key West (it was checked off last New Year’s).

The list is in no particular order.

30 Before 30

  1. Run a 5k
  2. Simplify my living space and clear out the clutter
  3. Eat local for one week
  4. Do a headstand without the wall
  5. Go one full day without talking, texting, emailing, or facebook
  6. Complete 21 days of meditation
  7. Travel without a plan
  8. Attend a kirtan
  9. Do a cleanse
  10. Learn how to change a tire
  11. Work on a farm for a day
  12. Become CPR certified
  13. Learn how to make one kick-ass vegan recipe to bring to parties
  14. Find a charity to believe in and support
  15. Eat in for one week
  16. Learn more about prenatal yoga
  17. Sew an article of clothing and wear it
  18. Try zumba
  19. Go on a 15+ mile bike ride
  20. Attend a yoga festival
  21. Eat vegan for one week
  22. Read another translation of the Yoga Sutras
  23. Study Spanish and stick with it
  24. Hold crow pose for five breaths
  25. Write a handwritten heartfelt letter once a week for 10 weeks
  26. Master a homemade chai recipe
  27. Go on a solo hike
  28. Celebrate the seasons
  29. Attend a kundalini yoga class
  30. Make my own beauty products

What are you curious about?

I am interested in learning how make all types of delicious healthy food. I also want to make less of an impact on the environment, challenge myself and make sure I spread some love around. Animals and nature make me happy.

Do you have a bucket list? What’s on it/or would be on it?

12 Comments

Filed under 30 Before 30, Books, Dining in, Happiness, Yoga

12 responses to “30 Before 30

  1. Regarding #25, one of my classmates from YTT is embarking on a year of writing letters and documenting it via her blog, http://myyearofletters.blogspot.com. It sounds very sweet; maybe it will give you some ideas, too!

  2. I loved reading your list. I’ve done a bunch of those things, and I think we have similar interests/ goals. I want to do so much… travel to wine country, do a food tour around a european country, camp near the summit of a mountain and watch the sunrise… so many more!

    • Thanks! I have tons of other stuff I’d love to do too, but since I wanted to accomplish everything in the next six months I decided to keep things on a budget. Cheers to checking off the things on this list and to whatever follows!

  3. Amber B.

    This is a great list, Angela! I look forward to your updates as you start crossing these experiences off your list. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Goals of Days Past | veggievinyasa

  5. beckyspringer

    Great list! I have a 30Before30 list, too! What i love about your list is the fact that just about everything on there is something that will help you throughout your entire life! Good thinking! I love it :).

  6. Pingback: Kitchari Cleanse | veggievinyasa

  7. Pingback: Quiet Contemplation | veggievinyasa

  8. Pingback: Detoxing Dip | veggievinyasa

  9. Pingback: Christmas Stitches | veggievinyasa

  10. Pingback: Five Links | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

