A Love Affair With Oats

Last night I stopped at Whole Foods to pick up a few things. Rolled oats in the bulk bins were a dollar and change per pound. Since they weigh practically nothing, this makes them one of the best bargains. I stocked up with a huge bag. This morning I made a strawberry banana oatcake and a double batch of granola. Let’s just say the house smells amazing right now.

Strawberry Banana Oatcake

I found the oatcake recipe in the August edition of Self Magazine. Directions: Mix one cup rolled oats with 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and two egg whites. Heat a pan over medium heat using cooking spray (I didn’t have any so I used Earth Balance spread). Place the oats in the pan pressing them together to form a pancake shape. Cook for five minutes on each side. Self suggested topping it with applesauce and sliced strawberries. I threw some strawberries in the food processor and made a cold sauce. Then I added sliced bananas. The oatcake is definitely a dry thing, so toppings are needed. What would you put on it?

Strawberries and bananas…what’s not to love?

On Sunday I’m going on a road trip to North Carolina with my boyfriend and his two sons (9 and 12 years old). We’re meeting his parents, aunts, uncles and cousins at a house in the Outer Banks for a week-long family vacation. I’m the only non-meateater, so I want to make sure to bring lots of yummy veg stuff. I made a double batch of Gwyneth Paltrow’s granola to share with everyone (get the recipe here).

Start with rolled oats

Add pepitas, sunflower seeds and almonds

The magic ingredient

Plus cinnamon and a pinch of salt

Combine maple syrup, agave nector and vegtable oil before mixing everything together

Bake 15-20 minutes

Try not to eat it all right off the pan!

Recently a reader suggested adding oats and peanutbutter to smoothies. That sounds awesome and I plan to try it this week! Keep the suggestions coming. I’m having so much fun trying new things and I love hearing from those of you that have been eating gourmet health food a lot longer than me! Thanks!

What other exciting things do you make with rolled oats?

1 Comment

Filed under Dining in

One response to “A Love Affair With Oats

  1. such an interesting addition to the granola, never ever would have thought to add a savory spice to sweet granola but it looks like it would be tasty!

Leave a Reply

