Insalata Italiana

Last night I made a trio of fresh Italian summer salads that were delizioso.

First up: Tuscan Panzanella

Panzanella is a salad of old bread, tomatoes and other yummy veggies mixed with oil and vinegar. I got the recipe from this cookbook, which was a gift from my best friend a few years ago.

Parsley is full of Vitamin C

Tomatoes: another Vitamin C superstar

Toss bread, veggies, parsley, oil and vinegar together, leave on the counter for an hour so flavors can develop

The finished product

Second Salad: Pesto Green Beans and Potatoes

This one came from So Easy by Ellie Krieger and it required barely any effort. She suggests using store-bought pesto to coat the potatoes and green beans, but I had a plastic baggie with homemade pesto in the freezer. I thawed it out in the morning and squeezed it out over the warm veggies.

Cover potatoes and steam six minutes, add green beans and cook five more minutes

So good: I was picking them out of the bowl after dinner with my fingers

Third Dish: Grilled Zucchini Salad with Lemon-Herb Vinaigrette

I was looking on the internet for a simple recipe for my farmers’ market zucchini. I couldn’t resist lemon and fresh herbs. Plus I already had most of the ingredients.

Summer on a plate

A little something extra: Sun-Dried Tomato and Olive Tapenade

 Three ingredients make up this tasty spread from Giada: 3/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, three 8-ounce cans black or kalamata olives and 5 tablespoons olive oil. Blend together in the food processor. Serve with endive leaves. Yum. (There’s no way to make this dip look pretty, but it’s good.)

Endive leaves: crunchy and sturdy

I’m getting hungry just looking at these pics. This was one of my favorite homemade meals. Everything was fresh and juicy, plus simple and easy.

What summer salads are you enjoying?

1 Comment

Filed under Dining in

One response to “Insalata Italiana

  1. Pingback: Magical Mushroom Marinade | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

