Reason #3: Yoga Makes Me Smile

 Yoga Makes Me Smile! Reason #3: Getting into a good flow sweats everything out.

I used to belong to a gym. I would sit on a stationary bike reading Marie Claire and watching the minutes slowly tick by. After a loooong half hour I would go exercise one muscle at a time on each machine. I would end with the medicine ball and a few stretches. It kept me fairly fit, but I was bored out of my mind.

Now I love group classes, and yoga in particular is my favorite. I practice at Dhyana Yoga in Philadelphia, where the classes are guaranteed to make sure you break a sweat. Vinyasa yoga is (usually) a more vigorous style where you flow from one pose to the next, building up heat along the way. And just in case holding extended side angle or chair pose isn’t inciting a sweat, you can always add chaturanga push-ups or practice transitions between the poses in a more dynamic way.

Whether it’s a stressful day or too many scoops of ice cream the night before, a good sweat makes everything better. Read all about exercise benefits here. As for me, I had too much fun at the boardwalk yesterday. I’m off to sweat things out!

My teachers at Dhyana Yoga

4 Comments

Filed under Yoga

4 responses to “Reason #3: Yoga Makes Me Smile

  1. Couldn’t agree with this reason more!! I need to get some good yoga flow into my life tonight 🙂

  2. My very first yoga teacher is a living example of yoga’s fitness benefits. She is 60-something and nothing but a little ball of muscle; her arms are ripped! Someone once asked if she did any other form of exercise, and aside from walking…no! She does vinyasa yoga every day and is in fabulous shape!

  3. Pingback: Reason #6: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

  4. Pingback: Reason #7: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

