Morning Mushrooms

I love mushrooms! I could eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner (and sometimes I do). Today they were sautéed on toast for breakfast. I used the following ingredients:

  • farmers’ market mushrooms
  • 1/2 small onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • thyme
  • salad greens
  • whole grain toast
  • olive oil
  • earth balance spread

I sautéed the onion and garlic in a splash of olive oil and a pat of  butter. Then I added the mushrooms and let them cook for a few minutes before adding 1/4 cup water. The mixture simmered until the water evaporated. I sprinkled salt, pepper and thyme, stirring carefully.

Juicy & fresh

I set the mushrooms aside and threw some salad greens in the pan. I heated them over low until they were slightly wilted. Meanwhile I toasted 2 slices of whole grain bread.

A delicious veggie breakfast

What do you like to top your toast with?

1 Comment

Filed under Dining in

One response to “Morning Mushrooms

  1. Oooh that’s so creative! I think the only time I’ve had mushrooms in the morning was in an omelet!

Leave a Reply

