Glacier National Park

I’ve spent the last week soaking up the peace and quiet of Montana. There wasn’t internet or phone service and I stayed away from the tv at the house. The views were spectacular and I’m definitely in love with Big Sky Country.

The breathtaking view from the deck (and a perfect place for yoga)

My motto for the week

Settling in with an Arnold Palmer upon arrival

Snow in July!

 The scenery while climbing Sinopah Mountain

A well-deserved scoop of huckleberry ice cream

Huckleberries grow wild in Glacier National Park. They’re the only thing that tourists can remove from the park and while I didn’t see any bushes myself, I tasted plenty of huckleberries on this trip. I had huckleberry ice cream, milkshake, cobbler, salad dressing and beer. I skipped out on the huckleberry chocolate, coffee and syrup.

Jumping in and going underwater in a lake filled with melted snow is quite an invigorating experience!

Going-to-the-Sun Road: one of America’s most impressive drives

Snack time

Beauty everywhere

I remember making wishes on these flowers as a little girl. I’m not wishing to be a ballerina anymore.

She was just as curious about us as we were of her

I couldn’t believe my luck when I found out that our trip coincided with the North American Indian Days celebration just 12 miles from where we were staying. It was a gathering of Native Americans from all over the U.S. and Canada. It’s not for tourists, but visitors are welcome. The festival was held in Browning, which is the headquarters of the Blackfeet Tribe.

Tribal elders getting things started

We were blessed to hear a prayer spoken in a native language and watch a colorful dance competition.

I was really touched by the pride they had in their culture. Of course I had to pick up a few handmade souvenirs: a beaded headband, dreamcatcher earrings and feather barrettes for my hair. I’ll be going Native this summer.

Montana has always held a special place in my heart as the home of many happy childhood memories. It was great to be back and feel the connection to nature.

Where are your happy childhood memories from?

1 Comment

Filed under Travel & Leisure

One response to “Glacier National Park

  1. Ahhh, serenity! That looks like a place where you don’t need a watch and can just tell time by the direction of the sun. I think you should have scribbled “& Life” at the bottom of that “Slow Down” sign. 🙂

    One of my fondest childhood vacations was my first trip to Disney World in 1987, and I think that’s why I keep returning today, even as an adult! Whenever my family was in Disney World, everyone always got along and seemed genuinely happy. So the memories that are associated with Disney are some of the main reasons I keep returning!

Leave a Reply

