Plane Snacks

I’ll be flying to Kalispell, Montana on July 4th. I’m going with a bunch of boys (my brother, nephew, boyfriend and his two sons) to hike and enjoy nature in Glacier Park. I’m really excited to go back to the place where I hold my happiest childhood memories. My father was in the air force when I was younger, and we lived in Great Falls, Montana for eight years. I spent my formative years in Montana, and my brother was born there. We used to go camping old school style. It was our family and one other, two tents and the dogs. We were out in the Rocky Mountains and it was B.Y.O.W. (bring your own water). No facilities, no plug-ins, and these were the days before handheld video games, laptops or iPhones. (Wow, I sound old. I’m only 29.) We will be staying in a house out in the middle of nowhere and I can’t wait. I’m not sure if there will be internet, so I have a few posts lined up for while I’m gone. Today I’m packing. I normally only take a carry-on bag with me on vacation, but since it’s a house and I have a feeling there will be a lot of down time I’m packing a little more than usual.

Plane snacks:

Fresh and local

My friend Rebecca shared a travel tip with me. Save your old containers from yogurt, hummus, etc. Use them to pack snacks when you won’t be returning home for a while. Most of these containers aren’t recyclable where I live. (It has to be a 1 or a 2, labeled on the bottom. Many are higher.)

 Almonds: portable and won’t spoil

 Two books that I’ve been dabbling in

Bring your own bottle: cheap and environmentally friendly

*Travel tip: You are allowed to bring an empty water bottle through security. Fill it up at a water fountain once you’re past the gate to save money and a plastic bottle. Refill as many times as you want to.

I also plan to pack a sandwich in the morning. Airport food is usually overpriced and stale.

Yesterday I was browsing through a few cookbooks, thinking about what might be fun to make in Montana. I came across this recipe and since I actually had most of the ingredients in the cupboard I decided to go for it. Half an hour later I had warm, delicious homemade granola.

Recipe from Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook

So good I had to pack it away: out of sight, out of mind

The ingredients: 

I was missing the pumpkin seeds and dried cranberries

The directions:

Seriously delicious

What do you pack for the plane?

3 Comments

Filed under Dining in, Travel & Leisure

3 responses to “Plane Snacks

  1. Katie

    ohhh I love camping but haven’t been in ages. It’s so great getting back to your roots and having good old fashion fun in nature. Have a blast!
    Pre cooked sweet potatoes in a tupperware travel surprisingly well. topped with PB and you have yourself a yummy snack!

    • Thanks! I would have never thought of that. Have you had any issues with peanutbutter through security? (I once had to plead with a security guy over a tub of hummus.)

  2. Pingback: A Love Affair With Oats | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

