Songs & Smoothies

The fridge was pretty bare this morning so I went digging in the freezer for breakfast ingredients. I found a bag of mango puree and a frozen banana. Combined with a cup of almond milk, I had the perfect three-ingredient smoothie.

In May I had a few mangos that were overripe and ready to be eaten. I took off the peel and put the flesh in the food processor to make a puree, which tasted delicious as a topping for yogurt. There was a lot left over, so I put the puree in a ziploc bag and labeled it with a Sharpie. It’s been in the freezer since.

*Freezer tip: I put leftovers in ziploc bags. I label them with the item and the date. Then I lay the bag flat on the shelf so that everything freezes evenly. Later, once it’s frozen I turn the bag upright. I keep all my bags in the freezer like a filing cabinet. It’s really easy to find stuff this way.

Whenever I have overripe bananas I cut them into chunks, wrap them in foil and set them in the freezer. They’re perfect for smoothies this way. I don’t use ice when I use frozen fruit. So yummy!

This may be my favorite smoothie ever

Yoga Playlist

I stayed up way too late last night looking for songs on iTunes. I normally don’t spend too much time selecting music, I just listen to whatever my friends suggest for me. As for yoga, I appreciate a good soundtrack during group classes but at home I like to practice outside with the birds chirping. However last week when I taught my own classes at the campground I realized that leaving the music up to chance isn’t ideal. So last night I set out to find some stuff for this Saturday’s classes.

I got my inspiration from Yoga Journal, Marie Claire and this website.

The plan:

A mix of Deva Premal and Krishna Das for before and between classes.

  (I already have this cd. I bought it at the Kripalu gift shop.)

 

 

 

 

 

All Levels Vinyasa

Warm Up: Shiva Shankar by Jaya Lakshmi

Sun Salutations: Beautiful Day by U2

Warriors & other standing poses: Love is My Religion by Ziggy Marley, Upside Down by Jack Johnson, Pale Horses by Moby  

Standing Balances, abs, backbends: Country Lane by Telekinesis, Reckoner by Radiohead, Therapy by India Arie

Seated poses: Shine by Laura Izibor, Come to Me by Wah!

Savasana: Purnima Namashkar by Chinmaya Dunster

*Of course the timing is anyone’s guess.

Relaxing Vinyasa

Pandora‘s Global Chill station

It’s $34 for commercial free radio for the year.

Children’s Yoga

Games and getting to know each other activities: Hey Soul Sister by Train, Good Life by OneRepublic

*The past few weeks I’ve had a wide range of ages- from 4 to 16 years old. Kids Bop doesn’t work for the teenagers, so I tried Pandora’s pop station. Last Saturday they requested “yoga music” so we listened to the Global Chill station. They liked it but I definitely want to keep things interesting for them.

What songs do you like to listen to during yoga?

4 Comments

Filed under Dining in, Yoga

4 responses to “Songs & Smoothies

  1. Pingback: veggievinyasa

  2. Rebecca Brumberg

    Love your song list! I like to do yoga to Thievery Corporation.

  3. Thanks! Great suggestion.

  4. Pingback: Yoga Playlists | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

