Breakfast Confetti

Today I had a delicious breakfast al fresco. I’m spending the week at my boyfriend’s house in South Jersey so I don’t have all of my spices and other basic kitchen stockpile. In order to eat healthy while I’m here I brought tons of fruits and veggies with me. This morning I decided to make an easy smoothie out of almond milk, berries, avocado and kale. Sounds weird, but it was actually pretty tasty.

Fresh kale: one of the world’s superfoods

I tore the kale leaves from the stems and threw them in a saute pan with a few tablespoons of water. I cooked them for about two minutes until they were bright green and softened. I put the leaves on a plate and stuck it in the freezer to cool while I got the rest of the ingredients together.

A two-minute simmer 

The blender: my a.m. best friend

 

Thick and filling

This is not a smoothie for the car. It’s chunky and there’s a huge chance that you will have either a piece of blueberry or kale stuck in your teeth when you’re finished (in my case it was both). I couldn’t taste the greenage and I thought the colors were fantastic, like confetti.

What are your favorite smoothie ingredients?

Bonus: puppy yoga

Sophie’s in the mood for a little downward facing dog

5 Comments

Filed under Dining in

5 responses to “Breakfast Confetti

  1. Katie

    I like to put spinach in my smoothies, but I always thought kale would taste bitter. Does it?? This morning I cooked oatmeal then added it in with banana, berries, spinach, coconut milk, and peanut butter. It made it insanely thick and amazing!

    • That sounds so good! This was my first time putting anything green in a smoothie. I read somewhere online to cook the kale a little, so that made it softer. I only used a few leaves because I was scared about the bitter factor, but I couldn’t really taste it all. Good luck and please share more smoothie ideas!

  2. Post-kale teeth are the only downside to such a great, versatile green! 🙂

  3. Holly

    Angela, only you can make a kale smoothie look so tasty. I think I may have to try it. Can you send me or post directions how to make a good smoothie. I am clueless and I know sometimes they are not as healthy as you think they are.

    • Thanks Holly! I agree, a lot of times sugary smoothies are sold under the guise of healthy. That’s why I usually don’t buy them anymore. Smoothies are really cheap and easy to make at home, and much healthier that way. I think the magic ingredient is vanilla flavored almond or soy milk. You really can’t go wrong with that and frozen fruit. If it’s not sweet enough, you can add one or two teaspoons of agave syrup. I posted yesterday about saving your old fruit that’s about to go bad. Just chop it up and throw it in a bag or foil in the freezer. That makes the best because it’s so flavorful. Good luck and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

