Dad’s Garden

Happy father’s day to all the dads out there!

I inherited many things from my dad: dark hair & eyes, an odd sense of humor, a serious work ethic, a mean foosball game  and a grave obsession with ice cream. But I most definitely did not get his green thumb. He’s already started growing tomatoes this year, which I thoroughly enjoyed in a salad on my last trip home. For father’s day I decided to get him a few more plants. It’s the gift that keeps on giving. 

Dad’s green beans, picture taken by mom 

I tried my hand at urban gardening last year with herbs and tomatoes out on the deck. Unfortunately everything was fried by July. It seems that home gardening and travel just don’t mix well for me. Although I really love the thought of growing my own food, I guess I’m just not ready for that kind of commitment yet. For now I’ll have to rely on those that can care for plants in a loving way. Thanks everyone that grows edible fare!

Vintage pic: Honest intentions at the start of summer last year

1 Comment

Filed under Home & Garden

One response to “Dad’s Garden

  1. Sometimes I feel guilty for not trying to grow my own food (I just CANNOT get into gardening), but then I realize that without people like me, the local farmers’ market wouldn’t exist. I’ll leave the growing to the pros and then support them!

Leave a Reply

