New England

This week my boyfriend and I were on an impromptu road trip up the East Coast. It was a bit cold and drizzly, but the views were still stunning.

First stop: Essex, Connecticut

Sunday brunch and home of a heavenly sweet breakfast pudding 

 A cute way to recycle

Second spot: Newport, Rhode Island

A misty afternoon on Newport’s Cliff Walk 

The Vanderbilt mansion

As you may know from this previous post, I am not usually a big fan of veggie burgers. However, the one at the Spiced Pear on Cliff Walk listed so many appetizing ingredients that I had to try it: chick peas, kidney beans, canelini beans, criminis, shitakes, tahini, tzatziki sauce, and a potato roll. I’m so glad I did.

A delicious contrast: the warm and savory “burger” with crisp and crunchy sprouts

Newport has a lively nightlife, so after an evening of lobster nachos and live music at the Irish pub it was time to balance things out with a healthy lunch the next day.

Mushroom salad with artichokes and herb vinaigrette

Rhode Island style clam chowder: it’s not red or white

Final destination: Block Island, Rhode Island

Saying goodbye to the car and hello to the ferry in Point Judith, RI

We stayed with our good friend Martin at the Seacrest Inn

A cloudy sunset in New Harbor

Breakfast at Ernie’s: so good I ate the same exact thing two days in a row

 

I never met a farmers’ market I didn’t like. We bought strawberry rhubarb jam, dill pickles and pickled mushrooms.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Travel & Leisure

3 responses to “New England

  1. Aw I loved looking at these Block Island pictures. That place holds a special place in my heart. I never ate at Ernie’s but it always smelled delicious! And I walked by the Seacrest twice a day everyday for 3 summers! And the farmer’s market, oh I miss those.

  2. Pingback: Three Ingredients | veggievinyasa

  3. Pingback: Small Changes | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

