Crazy About Quinoa

Today was another fun-filled day of yoga, meditation and healthy food with my mom. For lunch we made toasted veggie sandwiches. We used Publix brand roasted red pepper hummus (so delicious…wishing there was a Publix in Philadelphia), spinach, avocado, red peppers, onions, zucchini and squash.

Mushy gushy goodness

For dinner we diced up a lot of the same veggies, adding celery, oregano, chopped almonds and yesterday’s leftover chickpeas.

Home base for so many recipes

There’s never too much spinach

I simmered quinoa on the back burner to make a pilaf. It was my family’s first time trying it. They had open minds, and luckily they loved it. I kept the spices simple and offered a bottle of soy sauce on the table. One dash gave a great punch of flavor.

 Quinoa: the complete protein

Refreshing strawberry banana smoothies al fresco

Bonus: I made plenty of extra (plain) quinoa for mom to eat after I leave. We brainstormed all the tasty ways it could be used:

  • add curry powder, raisins, cooked carrots and onions for a Moroccan spin
  • cold, drizzled with olive oil; adding cumber, tomato and avocado (which could be eaten on a bed of mixed greens or in a pita)
  • added to veggie soup
  • warm with honey, cinnamon, nutmeg and almond milk for breakfast
  • stuffed in a bell pepper

Quinoa is so good for you! Read all about it here. There are tons of studies toting its great benefits. Quinoa has been shown to reduce migraines and improve heart health.

Do you have any amazing quinoa recipes?

 

7 Comments

Filed under Dining in

7 responses to “Crazy About Quinoa

  1. My oh my, that sandwich looks marvelous! I love combining various things between two slices of bread and pressing them on our George Forman grill. I can’t wait to try that combo.

    Have you ever tried Sabra hummus? I’m kinda addicted to the Luscious Lemon and the Spinach Artichoke flavors.

  2. Yum! Sounds like an easy way to make a veggie panini. I’ll pass that on to my mom since she has a George Forman grill.
    I’m not sure if I’ve tried that brand of hummus, but I’ll have to look for it because the flavors sound amazing. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Quick Quinoa | veggievinyasa

  4. Pingback: Sweet Quinoa | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

