Monday Morning

Another way to eat asparagus for breakfast… 

Sticking with my vow to eat as much asparagus as possible this month, I decided to use up a few leftover pieces this morning. I started with sourdough bread from Metro Bakery.

I also had salad greens and farmers’ market eggs in the fridge. I toasted the bread and heated up the asparagus. I sautéed the greens in a little bit of olive oil.

I attempted to make eggs over easy…and well, you can see how those turned out.

My vision included runny egg yolks and soggy bread. Since that didn’t quite happen, I added a little butter on the bread to moisten it.

I topped it off with cracked pepper and fresh thyme leaves. Basil or parsley would have been a great addition.  All in all, not bad for a quickie breakfast.

How do you plan to enjoy the rest of asparagus season?

Leave a comment

Filed under Dining in

Leave a Reply

