Reason #1: Yoga Makes Me Smile

Yoga Makes Me Smile! Reason #1: No shoes needed…it’s a barefoot activity!

Yoga makes me smile so much that I decided to elaborate why, and let my list grow. Right now I’m relaxing in sunny St. Augustine. My boyfriend had to make a few work calls, so I have the time to write about how much I love yoga.

The first thing I thought of the other day when I was making my list is that it’s done barefoot. I’m a Florida girl at heart, so I love the sand between my toes and just about any activity that doesn’t involve shoes. To me, being barefoot is all about being relaxed. I’m the friend that will show up to a formal dinner in a lacy dress and designer flip flops. I even donned a jewel encrusted pair as a bridesmaid in my cousin’s wedding. I love kicking my shoes off the second I enter through the door, and I’ve definitely given my feet some freedom under my desk on lunch breaks. It’s a great feeling to enter the yoga studio and put my shoes away for a while. It’s especially soothing in the winter when they’ve been bundled up in some type of heavy boot.

There are so many barefoot activities that I enjoy. Some of my favorites are: walking on a sandy beach, picnicking in the park, lounging on the couch, dancing to pop music in the living room (hairbrush microphone optional), soaking in a hot bath, napping in a hammock, somersaults on the front lawn, swimming laps, star-gazing, reading a good book in bed, surfing, getting a pedicure…

It was only natural that I would fall in love with yoga the second I tried it. If you haven’t tried it yet, get yourself to a studio ASAP! Pay for a few beginner’s classes so that you learn the basics, and then do it at home whenever you feel like it. I promise you will love it!

P.S. The next barefoot activity I would like to try is grape stomping.

3 Comments

Filed under Yoga

3 responses to “Reason #1: Yoga Makes Me Smile

  1. I am only truly, 100% happy when it is warm enough that I can walk barefoot on my kitchen (stone) floor. How I loathe socks!!

  2. Pingback: Reason #6: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

  3. Pingback: Reason #7: Yoga Makes Me Smile | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

