Live Like the Sun

“Live like the sun” is a little piece of advice I got last week at Kripalu from fitness guru Ellen Barrett.  She talked about how in modern-day society we can be a little (or very) disconnected from nature. The seasons are a cycle, and it makes sense to sleep more and “hibernate” in winter. Now that the sun is back for longer days, we can take advantage of daylight hours. I like the idea of waking up early, but it’s just so hard for me to get out of bed. I have a cozy down comforter, soft worn-in sheets, and squishy semi-flat pillows (just the way I like them). I am one of those snooze-button people that stays in bed until the last possible second… but whenever I do force myself up I feel great. It’s so much more relaxing to start the day at a smoother pace.

I especially like spring mornings in Philadelphia. It’s such a beautiful time to go walking through the city. The streets are quiet, the air is cool, and everything just feels fresh. In an effort to enjoy this part of the day, I plan to leave my curtains open so that I can let the sun wake me up. A little lofty for me, but I also want to “power down” at least an hour before bed: tv, computer, iPhone.  (I did wake up early this morning, I did not turn off the computer early last night. Progress.)

My favorite early morning activities are reading, walking, making smoothies (this week it’s chai frappuccinos) and yoga.

Sun Salutations: an invigorating way to start the day

(Pictures by Rahmat Muhammad)

How do you like to start your day?

2 Comments

Filed under Yoga

2 responses to “Live Like the Sun

  1. Just posted about this not too long ago! Every day starts with a big glass of warm water, rolling/stretching around the living room floor, 5-10 minutes of meditation, a short (~15 min) vinyasa sequence or some living room dancing, and finally a shower with my favorite mint-scented bodywash from Whole Foods. If I have time, I’ll do a 20-minute walk before I have to start work.

  2. Patti

    Love the pictures, especially the one taken inside.

Leave a Reply

