Simple Fruit Sauté

This morning I made a warm strawberry and blueberry breakfast sauté that smelled and tasted amazing. I got the recipe from The Chopra Center Cookbook. It was super easy and took about ten minutes. I ate it on 9-grain hot cereal, but I plan to use the leftovers on ice cream (it’s that good).

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp. butter, oil or ghee
  • 2 cups fruit, sliced or cubed
  • 2 Tbsp. fruit juice
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 2 Tbsp. golden raisins or other dried fruit
  • 2 Tbsp. maple syrup

 

I let the 9-grain cereal simmer on the back burner while I made the fruit sauté.

Directions:

Heat the butter in a pan over medium heat. Add the chopped fruit and cook for 2 minutes.

Add the fruit juice, cinnamon, nutmeg, and raisins to the pan. Stir and simmer for about 5 minutes. Add more juice if needed. (I usually don’t have regular juice around the house because I think it has too much sugar. I did have a bunch of clementines that were on sale last week, so I juiced two of those instead.)

Turn off the heat and pour in the maple syrup.

This is a great way to use up overripe fruit. I can’t wait to try it with apples or pears!

6 Comments

Filed under Dining in

6 responses to “Simple Fruit Sauté

  1. Pingback: Sunday Morning Scramble | veggievinyasa

  2. Patti

    I recognize that 9 grain cereal! Have you found a source to replenish your supply or will you need to make another visit to Annapolis? I’m hoping none exists in Philly!

  3. Pingback: Warm Pear and Apple Sauté | veggievinyasa

  4. Pingback: Sugar Binge | veggievinyasa

  5. Pingback: Apples & Oats | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

