Coming off Coffee

This is my fourth day in a row sans coffee…I’m still alive! The headache and drowsiness are almost faded. I’ve been experimenting with different teas. My new favorite is a homemade chai frappuccino. It’s easy, cheap and much healthier than the Starbucks version. I got the recipe from The Chopra Center Cookbook by Deepak Chopra (he’s an Oprah favorite).

 

Recipe

Chai Bliss Shake (serves 1)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chai tea
  • 1 medium banana, peeled and sliced
  • 1 pinch nutmeg
  • 1 pinch cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. organic raw honey or maple syrup
  • 1 scoop protein powder, plain or vanilla
  • 2 Tbsp. low-fat vanilla soymilk

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.

*I added ice to make it frothier. I left out the protein powder because I didn’t have any. I’m not sure how I feel about the stuff. I’m not a body builder. Do I really need it?

I first heard about Deepak Chopra from my yoga teacher Dhyana. I got the cookbook about a month ago, and everything’s been delicious so far. Mitch (my boyfriend) really liked the curry filo tarts that were stuffed with broccoli, leeks, cauliflower and carrots (no pics of those…they were pretty lumpy and sad-looking, but tasty). This week I plan to make the simple fruit saute that can be used for breakfast or dessert. Stay tuned!

Have a happy healthy day!

1 Comment

Filed under Dining in

One response to “Coming off Coffee

  1. Pingback: Good Karma Cafe | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

