Wish List

I love, love, love books! I have them in the living room on a huge shelf, in the kitchen, on the coffee table, in baskets, in the bathroom and (perhaps most annoying to Mitch) shoved under the bed. I can’t help myself. I love to reread, so it’s hard to get rid of any. It’s also hard to resist buying new ones. Here is a list of the books that I’m crushing on right now:

1. Super Natural Every Day: Well-loved Recipes from My Natural Foods Kitchen by Heidi Swanson. (She is the author a super-adorable blog called 101 Cookbooks. Check it out!)

2. The Roasted Vegetable by Andrea Chesman. I am not a fan (yet) of tofu, seitan or any other meat replacement thing, if that’s what you call them. I am, however, a huge fan of roasted vegetables. This cookbook has great reviews, and I love that the focus is on veggies.

3. The Vegan Table: 200 Unforgettable Recipes for Entertaining Every Guest at Every Occasion by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. I was browsing through this one at the bookstore the other day. It drew me in with the title. I thought about how fun it would be to impress all my non-veg friends with healthy, delicious party food.

4. My Father’s Daughter: Delicious, Easy Recipes Celebrating Family & Togetherness by Gwyneth Paltrow. I know, another celebrity cookbook. Ugh. But I also browsed through this one (Yes…I could spend all day at the bookstore without buying a thing, and I have many times). The pages are elegantly designed and she does something that I adore in cookbooks. She offers variations on the same recipe, such as two ways to make white bean soup, just changing a few things at the end.

5. Gorgeously Green: 8 Simple Steps to an Earth-Friendly Life by Sophie Uliano. I already have The Gorgeously Green Diet: How to Live Lean and Green by the same author. She gives so many practical and useful tips about eating healthy and reducing waste in the kitchen, I would love to read what she has to say about beauty products and household items. She manages to explain things we might not want to hear in a positive and non-preachy kind of way.

What’s your favorite cookbook?

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Wish List

  1. I am a big fan of Peter Berley. I just took a cooking class from him at the Institute of Culinary Education here in New York City and on my way out bought his Fresh Food Fast. So many good veggie recipes!

  2. Pingback: Summer Sides | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

