Recipe of the Day

Last Saturday I grabbed a recipe card from the farmers’ market mushroom stand. It seemed simple enough. It was called Mushroom-Tomato-Green Bean Salad, and that pretty much covered most of the ingredients. My yogini friend Alissa was over yesterday, and we munched on carrots and tortilla chips with leftover hummus as we made this dish.

The first step was to trim the beans, cut into bite size pieces and cook until crisp. That’s all the directions said, so I put the green beans in a frying pan with a few tablespoons of water. It’s one of the easiest ways to cook green beans or asparagus (I haven’t tried any other veggies this way yet).

The recipe called for a quart of crimini mushrooms. I had some shiitakes in a paper bag. I have no idea what a quart looks like. We sliced them up as instructed, but we both decided we’d rather cook them then eat them raw. We put them in a small pot with a little (organic) butter. She chopped the tomato and I sliced the green onions. We put the beans and mushrooms in the fridge to cool while I made the dressing.

Recipe

Mustard Vinaigrette Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • ½ c. olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • ½ tsp. salt (forgot this by accident)
  • ground pepper to taste

Directions:

Whisk garlic, vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper in a small bowl. Slowly add in oil. Whisk until smooth.

All that was left was to add the tomato and green onion to the bowl and pour on the dressing. I only used half of the vinaigrette. The rest is in the fridge for another day.

I try to add leafy greens into my diet whenever possible, so I decided to lay down a few leaves of spinach as a base for the salad.

I loved how flavorful the salad was. We wanted to keep dinner light since we were heading to an evening yoga class, and it turned out amazing.

The official recipe card

I didn’t measure, forgot the salt and didn’t have the parsley…but it didn’t matter. You can’t go wrong with fresh veggies and vinaigrette!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dining in

Leave a Reply

