Burgers and Beer

I love thick juicy burgers. I’ve tried a few veggie burgers in restaurants, but they just don’t do it for me. I’ve found that marinated portabellas at home are a much more satisfying alternative. Last night my boyfriend Mitch and I made dinner together. He told me that he would be happy as long as they had a real bun. I marinated the mushrooms in the morning, using a simple recipe from Mollie Katzen’s Get Cooking. I also threw some chickpeas and water in the crockpot because I was desperately craving homemade hummus. I bought some freshly baked buns at LeBus.

I attempted to make homemade onion rings. They turned out so-so. I also roasted the last of my farmers’ market asparagus. Mitch was in charge of the hummus. It was creamy and delicious. He did a great job, and there’s plenty leftover for the week. We used a recipe from Grub: Ideas for an Urban Organic Kitchen. We layered the burgers with spinach and avocado. I’m not a fan of ketchup or mustard (I know, so un-American of me), but he added them to his.

What’s your favorite “veg” burger topping?

2 Comments

Filed under Dining in

2 responses to “Burgers and Beer

  1. Pingback: New England | veggievinyasa

  2. Pingback: World Vegetarian Day | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

