Quinoa Pilaf

I have a habit of following recipes. It can be a problem when I need a small quantity of something, like one celery stalk. I never know what to do with the rest. So in an effort to eat what I buy, and buy only what I need, I decided to use only what I have in the fridge and pantry today. I found a box of quinoa and of course my farmers’ market veggies. I googled carrot quinoa, but couldn’t find any recipes that I had all the ingredients for. I decided to (gasp) try something on my own.

I pulled out all the things I thought would taste good in a quinoa pilaf: carrots, red bell pepper, onion, spinach, mushrooms, and garlic. I had some leftover mushroom broth in the fridge, so I decided to use it.

I sautéed the veggies with a little olive oil and oregano while the quinoa was simmering in the mushroom broth. I added the cooked quinoa to the veggie pan when it was finished. I found some sunflower seeds that had a freshness date of June 2010, but figured they couldn’t hurt me. I dry roasted them in a small frying pan and added them at the end. The pilaf was finished with a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

It was surprisingly good. I like the mushroom flavor with the nutty texture of the quinoa and sunflower seeds.

Recipe

Quinoa Pilaf (Serves 2)

 Ingredients:

  •  2 cups chopped veggies (whatever you have laying around)
  • 1 clove garlic chopped or minced
  • sprinkle of oregano
  • olive oil
  • ½ cup quinoa
  • 1 cup vegetable or mushroom broth or water
  • ¼ cup sunflower seeds

 Directions:

Cook the quinoa in the broth or water according to package directions. Drizzle a teaspoon of olive oil in a pan. Add chopped vegetables that take the longest first. (I put the onion, garlic and carrot in first). Add other veggies once those are softened. Sprinkle with oregano and continue sautéing until all vegetable are cooked. Add quinoa in with the vegetables. Stir. Dry roast sunflower seeds. Serve quinoa and sprinkle with salt, pepper and sunflower seeds.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Dining in

2 responses to “Quinoa Pilaf

  1. Pingback: Quick Quinoa | veggievinyasa

  2. Pingback: Sweet Quinoa | veggievinyasa

Leave a Reply

